Mumaugh Memorial
Art & Culture

Garaghty – Mumaugh Memorial: 162 East Main Street


This was the first lot sold by the Zanes in Lancaster, one of two sold prior to the dedication of the new town in November 1800. It was purchased by Jacob & Peter Fetters from Noah Zane for $50, possibly a special price to repay them for their help in surveying the lots. The normal lot price was $200. The one-story portion of this home was built in 1805 for Mr. Giani, an Italian wine merchant who purchased the lot from the Fetters. In 1817 Giani permitted its use for Roman Catholic services held by missionary Father Fenwick. The one-story brick structure is thought to be the oldest brick structure still standing in Ohio.

The two-story Federal style addition to the front of the house was built In 1824 for Michael Garaghty, a native of Ireland who had come to Lancaster in 1804. He had been a paymaster to Colonel Williamson’s regiment in the War of 1812 and had returned to become a prominent banker for the first Lancaster Bank. In 1856, John. R. Mumaugh, a bank director, financier, and businessman purchased the home.

This home is a fine example of a symmetrical Federal home with a center doorway and matching windows. The only deviation from the Federal style is the steeping gables probably reflected by the Dutch background of the builder, Isaiah Vorys, Sr. The house boasts a beautiful doorway with elliptical fan light, finely detailed woodwork, and a hand-carved mantel. The House was given to the city by Mrs. Fannie Mumaugh in 1929 in hopes of it being a “Museum for all.”

In 1979 the sandstone wall and wrought iron fence surrounding the property were restored.

Today, the Fairfield County Foundation is located here.

Share your adventures with #VisitFC